Book Review: WRAPPED IN WHITE

WRAPPED IN WHITE: Thirteen Tales of Spectres, Ghost, and Spirits

WIW CoverAfter reading Wrapped in Red, a vampire anthology released by Sekhmet Press, I was very excited to hear about Wrapped in White: Thirteen Tales of Spectres, Ghosts, and Spirits. As a lover of ghost stories, this was a wonderful collection. The perfect kind of tales to read around a campfire. I was very pleased to see two of my favorite authors (Allison M. Dickson, author of STRINGS, and Patrick C. Greene, author of PROGENY) had contributed to the anthology. I also discovered some authors I was unfamiliar with who had some amazing stories in the anthology.

Here’s the breakdown, in TOC order.

Daddy’s Glasses by Allison M. Dickson

This is Dickson at her best. Great imagery, amazing character development, and her remarkable skill at grabbing the reader and never letting go. There’s a reason she’s one of my favorite authors, and this story is the perfect example of her talent.

The Curse of Kirby by Patrick C. Greene

Greene has a skill at dialogue, and this story has some of his best. The humor is a great addition too. But this is a ghost story, and a creepy, gory one at that.

The White Boy by Joshua Rex

Oh, this story brought out all the feels. Creepy, a little scary, and the ending is heartbreaking. Great introduction to this author, I will definitely have to check out more of his work.

Unseen by James Glass

Though I really enjoyed this story, it felt more like an alien story than a ghost story. Very well-written, and the ending was superb.

Scary HouseJohn by g. Elmer Munson

This felt like Hansel & Gretel in hell. Great language and imagery.

You’ll Thank Me by Tomorrow by Michael D. Matula

This was one of my favorites in the collection. Creepy hotels are always a great setting for a ghost story. I thought the author did a great job with jumping time lines. The description is also outstanding. Definitely an author I will check into.

Thursday Night Bingo by Kelli A. Wilkins

Predictable, but still enjoyable. The author does a great job at giving these characters their own voices.

The Witness by Bryan W. Alaspa

Another of my favorites. Why have I not read more work by Bryan Alaspa? He did a wonderful job developing his main character in few words. Any author who can do that in a short story is truly talented.

His Shrine to Santa Muerte by Michael G. Williams

Okay, this one was a little over my head I think. I really liked the setting, but I felt the story was kind of all over the place and some of the language seemed a little over the top for my liking.

Creepy GhostThe Other One by Patrick O’Neill

First off, I loved the style and language of this story. The eerie feel to it added with great writing skills made this a great addition to the anthology. Though, the time period confused me.

Inseparable by Solomon Archer, Ph.D.

Whoa. Whoa. This one leaves me a little speechless. Archer has an amazing skill with words. He weaves together a story that leaves the reader shuddering by the end. I was very excited to learn he has more stuff in the works. I will absolutely be looking into more works from him.

Whiteout by Gary Buettner

Just the idea of a blind man left in the snow after a car accident is chilling. The descriptions and imagery in this story are very frightening. But could it really be called a ghost story? Not sure about that. It is definitely scary, though.

Ain’t They Bright by Cecilia Dockins

Hello, Cecilia Dockins. This woman has the power of language. Nothing I say can bring justice to this story. It is that compelling. Read it.

Overall, this collection was excellent. It was very well put together, the flow of each story to the next was perfect. All the contributing authors are very talented, professional writers. Hats off to everyone involved with this anthology. Excellent.

Be sure to check out Sekhmet Press for all purchase links!

One thought on “Book Review: WRAPPED IN WHITE

  1. Pingback: Wrapped In White is Out, and it’s Me Day! | gElmerMunson

Leave a Reply

