Book Review: WICKED BREW

Wicked Brew: 9 Tales of Misdeeds and Regret

Synopsis

Wicked BrewWicked Brew is the first volume of collected short stories by Allison M. Dickson, author of the terrifying thriller novel STRINGS. It features many of the favorites thousands of readers have come to know and love. From lying politicians getting their due to a friendly game of cards gone horribly wrong, there is something here to satisfy nearly every reader in search of a cautionary tale with a haunting twist.

For reference, Wicked Brew contains the following stories:

A Debacle of Donuts
Vermin
Taste: Part I of the Consumption Trilogy
George’s Tonic
Aria
Liar’s Tongue
A Concealed Hand
Singularity: A Binary Love Letter
Under the Scotch Broom

This collection also contains all new author notes for each story!

My Review

Finally, an AMD collection!

I have been following Allison M. Dickson’s career for almost two years now. At this point, I have read everything she has released. Most of the stories I purchased on day of release. When I found out she was FINALLY compiling all of her stories in two collections, I was ecstatic. As a reader, I want everyone to read Allison’s work.

Here are my thoughts on the stories in WICKED BREW.

A Debacle of Donuts

One of the earlier shorts published by Allison, and it touches on self-image and self-loathing. What if you could have that one wish you have always wanted? What would you be willing to sacrifice? Great, witty short story.

Vermin

This one makes my skin crawl, which I think was the goal with Vermin. The scene of this short story is very vivid, almost its own character. While not one of my favorites, Vermin is classic Dickson.

Taste: Part I of the Consumption Trilogy

This is a tale of love. Obsessive love, but love nonetheless. It is creepy and disgusting in the most wonderful way possible.

George’s Tonic

One of my favorites. The character development in this one is done so well with so few words. This story does not have any supernatural elements, and Dickson knocks it out of the park. A tale of revenge and, once again, obsession.

Aria

This is one of Dickson’s earlier works, but it still an outstanding read. I think it kind of touches on society’s need for technology. But that only scratches the surface of Aria. This story is a superb example of Dickson’s insight into human nature. Oh, and for the record, I prefer the alternate ending.

Liar’s Tongue 

How I felt when I found out about this release!

How I felt when I found out about this release!

A gross out, disturbing little tale. If you have a fear of worms, don’t read this one.

A Concealed Hand 

There is something about A Concealed Hand that sticks with the reader long after finishing. I think it has something to do with the regret at the end. It’s not hard to imagine a long married couple going to blows over a game of cards. The scene-setting Dickson does is spot on. Again, she has the power to develop characters in very few words. This skill is evident in A Concealed Hand.

Singularity: A Binary Love Letter 

I couldn’t remember this story very well, so I went back and read it today. What if your computer could fall in love with you? What if your computer was watching you ALL THE TIME? Who knows what kind of power an inanimate object can hold over you. Though not an original theme, Dickson’s spin has a certain amount of style that cannot be ignored.

Under the Scotch Broom 

Another one of my favorites. I think Scotch Broom embodies Dickson’s talent as a writer. Impeccable character development and very well written. Has some twists the reader does not see coming. This is one that stays with you long after finishing.

At the end of the collection is my favorite, Author’s Notes. It is always interesting to read the author’s thoughts on her own stories. This collection is a must read for any fan of short fiction. It is a definite read for any fan of Allison M. Dickson.

WICKED BREW is now available in eBook format on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

