The Dark Tower

The Dark Tower

DT imageI have a definite obsession with this series. I’m what Eddie Dean would call a Tower-junkie. I could read it over and over again. I can talk it about for hours with a fellow fan. And I have done both these things. If it was one book, it would be my favorite, no contest. The world Stephen King created is breathtaking and unforgettable.

What I have found most interesting is how my favorite book in the series changes with each re-read. The first time, Wizard & Glass (book 4) was my favorite. Second go around, The Drawing of the Three (book 2)  took home first place. The third time I ventured into Mid-World, it was Wolves of the Calla (book 5) that captured me. I love them all, but I struggle with book 6 and, at times, dread book 7 (not the entire novel, but certain parts). Also, and this may be my biggest sin, I’ve only read The Gunslinger (book 1) once. Hmmm…I should remedy that.

wizard and glassI am currently on my fourth journey to the Dark Tower, and I’m listening to the audiobooks this time. So far the experience is incredible. The characters come to life through the narration of Frank Muller. The man was born to read this story. The voice he leads to the Dark Tower is the voice of Roland. Listening truly is a different experience than visually reading the story. At times, I feel I’m hearing it for the first time.

I just finished Wizard & Glass last night. The last thirty minutes of the audio version is an excerpt from the next book, Wolves of the Calla. Due to an unfortunate accident, Mr. Muller does not return for the final books in the series. George Guidall takes the reins, and I’m nervous. I’ve listened to poorly narrated audiobooks and it can ruin the story. I don’t believe this will be the case, I have complete faith the series will continue to be amazing.

I will report back once I have finished the journey.

The DT cover photo

Leave a Reply

